h1

Stepping Outside My Comfort Zone

November 3, 2007

Well, they say that stepping outside of your comfort zone is the first big step to personal growth.  I must be growing by leaps and bounds as posting a blog is wayyyy outside my comfort zone. 

Really, when I think about it, it doesn’t make a lot of sense.  I like to talk, I like to share my thoughts (probably more than people wish I would!).  But the idea of “having to post” something on a blog on a somewhat regular basis terrifies me. 

 I think I fear the pressure of having to write something when I have nothing of substance to say. Hmmm… that doesn’t make sense either. I frequently blather about nothing of great importance. Maybe it’s just putting it down in a semi-permanent fashion. You know where someone can come back and say, but you said… Yep!  I think there is a mother/child issue at work here.

The time has come to face my fears. My bags are packed, my saddle is cinched up tight, stirrups adjusted.  I’m mounting up to take off on this little ride.  Saddle up and join me. I’m not sure how fast or how far we will go, but wherever the path leads, we can enjoy the scenery on the way!

8 comments

  1. Congratulations, Cheryl! I commend you on stepping outside that comfort zone of ours — Yay for you! I love your banner, btw.


  2. Cheryl!

    Congrats on stepping into the unknown – in spite of your fears and reservations. Stretching is a good thang! 🙂

    I love your banner, and I love your honest, authentic writing.

    Wishing you much sucess and fulfillment with blogging!

    Andrea


  3. Congrats Cheryl!! I’m so happy for you! I love the banner too…I can just hear the clip-clop of shod hooves across that bridge!

    Don’t worry too much about not having something ‘of substance’ to write about. The wonderful thing about blogs is that you get to show more of your personality to your site visitors. it’s a much more casual atmosphere where you’ll have an opportunity to put yourself out there for the wonderful soul you are, as well as sharing your considerable wealth of talent & experience. 🙂 In no time at all, you’ll find all sorts of great topics to share with your readers.

    Best of luck to you on this new step for you & your business!


  4. Congratulations, Cheryl. I love your banner, too, and the familiar tone of your writing. I’m eager to read the next installment!


  5. Cheryl:

    Congratulations on stepping out of your comfort zone. I have a quote that I love (in fact, it’s my mantra) that talks about staying small doesn’t serve the world.

    You have now taken the leap and you will find the next step outside to be a little easier, then a little easier, until it’s not a fear at all.

    And you never know when the “nothingness” you are talking about is exactly what someone needed. So don’t be shy. Just talk.


  6. Thanks everyone for the encouragement.

    Sandi, That was my thought EXACTLY when I picked this theme!

    Vickie, I’m shaking my head here. You don’t honestly think this has to do with me being SHY??? I have never EVER been accused of being shy!!! 😉


  7. Wow, Cheryl, I came across this and am so impressed! So sorry I missed it before! How proud I am of you in stepping out of your comfort zone! You are going through so many changes, both personally, and professionally, and you will no doubt come out on top, a huge success story! This is just the beginning of a wonderful time for you!

    Great job!


  8. Tracey,

    You are a born cheerleader – and I say that in the nicest way!



Leave a Reply

